Saturday, January 21, 2017

Chemistry Bumper Cars, 2017

In the age of globalization, Reddit, DM, and coffee shops, it's surprising when you don't hear about a faculty move at least two months ahead of it becoming reality.

(Alert! Repurposed text to follow!)

Last year's list has grown ungainly, and so it's time for a new batch. Same rules apply: If you hear of a move, please tell me in the comments, and I'll post in the "Pending Confirmation" section. Escape from pending purgatory involves sending me a link or other documentation from the new institution. Happy speculating!


Adam Braunschweig (Miami to CUNY)
Nathan Gianneschi (UCSD to Northwestern)
Karen Goldberg (Washington to Penn)
Laura Kiessling (Wisconsin to MIT)
Chenglong Li (OSU to Florida)
John MacMillan (UTSW to UCSC)
Christopher McCurdy (Mississippi to Florida)  thanks, Cunningham!
Pere Miro (UNF to South Dakota) thanks, Chemjobber!
Randall Peterson (Harvard MGH to Utah, admin)
Ronald Raines (Wisconsin to MIT)
Chris Scarborough (Emory to Syngenta)
Kirk Schanze (Florida to UT-San Antonio)
Daniel Seidel (Rutgers to Florida)
James Skinner (Wisconsin to Chicago)
Carlos Silva (Montreal to Georgia Tech)
Greg Verdine (WaVe, WuXi Venture, Eleven, Fog)
Michael Wolfe (Harvard Med to Kansas)
Roy Wollman (UCSD to UCLA)
Bill Wuest (Temple to Emory)
Chengguo Xing (Minnesota to Florida)  one source

Pending Confirmation

Jen Heemstra (Utah to ???) two sources
Ken Knappenberger (Florida State to PSU)
Andreas Lendlein (HZG to Texas A+M)  two sources
Rob Paton (Oxford to Colorado State)  one source
Scott Phillips (PSU to Boise State)
Junrong Zheng (Rice to Peking)

Very unlikely method - too much H2O gets into the deuterium oxide...

New Hires

Samuel Awuah (Kentucky)   thanks, Lippard lab!
Jean-Luc Ayitou (Illinois Institute of Tech)
Jeff Bandar (Colorado State)
Chris Barile (UN-Reno)
Eszter Boros (Stony Brook)
Andrew Buller (Wisconsin)  thanks, Chemjobber!
Carlos Carrero (Auburn)  three sources
Matthew Chambers (LSU)
Christopher Dares (FIU two sources
Eric Detsi (UPenn)
Noemie Elgrishi (LSU)
Todd Gingrich (Northwestern)
Christopher Hendon (Oregon)
Kristin Hutchins (Texas Tech)  thanks, Moore group!
Meredith Jackrel (WU St. Louis)
Evan Joslin (U of the South)  one source
Jessica Kramer (Utah Bioengineering)
Jiwoong Lee (Copenhagen)
Semin Lee (LSU)
Ashley Longstreet (Tampa)   two sources
Long Luo (Wayne State)
Tomoyasu Mani (UConn)
Andrew Nieuwkoop (Rutgers)
Michael Norris (Richmond)  one source
Eric Price (Saskatchewan)
Rebecca Quardokus (UConn)
Madalyn Radlauer (San Jose State)  personal communication
Maxwell Robb (Caltech)
Jennifer Rupp (MIT)
Kimberly See (Caltech)
Christo Sevov (Ohio State) thanks, Sanford Lab!
Alexey Silakov (Penn State)
Zachary Smith (MIT)
Mark Tibbitt (ETH)  one source
Pratyush Tiwary (Maryland)
Gael Ung (UConn)
Alexandra Velian (Washington)
Konstantinos Vogiatzis (Tennesseeone source
Xingchen Ye (IUB)
Joseph Zadrozny (Colorado State)

Pending Confirmation

Jennifer Bridwell-Rabb (Michigan)
Marie Heffern (UC Davis)
Rashad Karimov (Auburn)
Jarad Mason (Harvard)
Yiming Wang (Pitt)
Zachary Wickens (Wisconsin)


For 2016 moves, click here
For 2015-2016 moves, click here

For 2014-2015 moves, click here.
For 2012-2013 moves, click here